Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

FINALLY got blaster started, smokes then died!

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2005, 02:50 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FINALLY got blaster started, smokes then died!

after weeks of throwin parts at my blaster i finally got ti started. it sat for 4 years, i got it, put new reeds, rebuild the carb, adn put a oil pump block off kit in it. i pulled it behind a nother quad for awhile and it sputtered a few times and then i finally got it started. let it idle for a few but it smokes sooooo bad its not even funny. im not experienced with blasters much but it covered me adn then floated around in the air, i couldnt let off the gas or it would die. and it revved pretty funny. i put it in gear and road around for a few tryin to kinda blow the cobbs out and stuff and i got back around and shifted down adn it died and i cant get it to start again. i pulled the plug and its fouled. its a brand new plug. the blaster is either bored .40 out or its a 240, the guy wasnt sure when i bought it. the main jet is a 230, i put an open element that slips onto the carb and i put boyesen power reeds. the pilot jet im not sure. its whatever was in the carb b4 i rebuilt it. i put a new needle in it and everything. what do you think? im lettin it sit and dry out for now in my heated garage and ill try startin it again in an hour or so. what about the air screw? i turned it all the way in and then out 1 an 1/4 turn for a baseline

Old 01-23-2005, 02:56 PM
Pro Rider

sounds like you need to replace the rings or maybee even a new top end

Old 01-23-2005, 02:59 PM
Weekend Warrior

thats what i thought too but its got really good compression. i looked in the intake when i got the reeds and it seems to be in pretty good shape. it ran. started. it didnt smoke as much once i got going but it still smoked.

Old 01-23-2005, 03:20 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post