Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

05 kodiak 450 Billet power tip

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2005, 07:24 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 kodiak 450 Billet power tip

I just bought this 450 and love it. I'm new to these 4-wheelers but i've ridden alot when i was younger mainly a honda 200 3 wheeler.(you could not wear that thing out) But i did alot of research and went with the kodiak 450. My question is i bought a Billet aluminum exhast power tip. I removed the spark arrester and was wondering what the purpose of it was. Is it illegal to go without it? And also has anyone found any websites for K&n oil and air filters for the 05 model or any place for accessories?

Old 02-20-2005, 12:16 PM
Range Rover

good question, I can tell you about the spark arrester and other wil jump in with the accessories.

the "spark arrester" is what its name implies to, should there be any loose (hot ) particles in your exhaust or a piece of red glowing hot carbon from your piston wants to go and burn a dry grass field, the "spark arrester should stop it.
there are several types, most common are tight mesh screen raped several times around or the centrifugal/swirl channel design which channel exhaust gas and particles hit a dead end or a wall inside a muffler but the gas will find its ay out the tip, example honda XR400.

2 stroke engines are more sensitive to exhaust changes and rely on certain exhaust flow for efficient operation.
you can really choke one down by putting a spark arrester in it,
not true for 4 stroke engines, they are less sensitive to exhaust changes a well designed spark arrester will not rob horse power.

you have a utility quad, which already has a good flowing exhaust, also a fairly loud exhaust from the factory.