Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Grizzly Restoration Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2005, 03:09 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grizzly Restoration Questions

I'm an Army officer currently deployed. I found what I think is a 98/99 Grizzly in an abandoned bunker. It was probably one of the SF's many toys that they left behind. If I can get it running, I will paint it olive drab and drive it. I've never laid hands on an ATV before but lots of experience with old VW's and Porsches. All of the major components seem to be in place (except battery) but I get the impression it didn't start because I found a can of ether sitting on top of it. Any answers to the following would be appreciated.

1. Are there any online resources such as manuals, wiring and hose diagrams? Mail here sucks.
2. Is the trans. oil separate from the engine oil?
3. What grade of oil does it take?
4. It has an aux. recoil starter. Will it run w/o the battery?
4.B. The recoil starter was removed. What's the plastic cap behind it for?
5. The brake pedal doesn't seem like it wants to move. Is that normal?
6. 1/4 in. above the left band brake, there is a broken nipple w/ no line running into it. What should go there?

Old 08-02-2005, 07:52 AM
Pro Rider

Where are you at?

Old 08-02-2005, 08:55 AM
Weekend Warrior

Uzbekistan.

Old 08-03-2005, 12:23 AM
Weekend Warrior

Well I found a 2001 manual online that seems to answer most of my questions. But I'd still like to know if it will run w/o the battery.

Old 08-04-2005, 07:26 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

not going to run without a battery

Old 08-05-2005, 02:28 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Originally posted by: DonQ