Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Question about a 'program bike' from a Yamaha dealer

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2009, 02:18 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about a 'program bike' from a Yamaha dealer

I have been lusting for a 660 or 700 raptor for about a month now. I saw that Yamaha has the 'Y we ride' event going and that just added fuel to the flame. First, I have never bought a new bike from a dealer. My current warrior was my first quad and I got that privately. So I have no 'dealer experience' when it comes to quads.

So for kicks and giggles, I popped in last Saturday at the local Yamaha dealer. Turns out they have a '09 700r that the salesman called a 'program' bike. He said they "bought it at an auction sale from the inventory of another dealer who went out of business." He said it was still a 'new' bike b/c it has never been titled, so I would still get the new bike warranty and the rebate & finance deals from Yamaha. He wrote up a quick offer that I was not at all impressed with. My gut told me it was the same inital offer he throws out for any new 700r. I said no, thanked him for his time and left.

My suspicion is that if they really got this from what sounds like a 'liquidation' sale, they probably got it for about .60 cents on the dollar??... More.. less..???

Is anyone familiar with 'program' bikes and what kind of deals you can get on them? Knowledge is power and I want to do as much research as I can before I attempt to negotiate a deal for it.

Old 10-13-2009, 02:54 PM
Trailblazer

Here's a post on their website about 'program' bikes... doesn't quite match what the salesman said, but looks like he was right about it not being titled yet.

WE JUST GOT IN OVER 100 KAWASAKI AND YAMAHA PROGRAM BIKES WITH LOW LOW PRICING !!!!!