Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Seat hitting me in the arse!

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2001, 07:36 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to adjustable rear suspension, so bear with me. When going over bumps at slow to moderate speeds my Raptors' seat bounces back up and hits my butt a lot. What adjustment do I have to play with to help decrease this?

If anyone has time to re-cap all the suspension adjustments...be my guest!

Old 05-07-2001, 08:02 PM
Pro Rider

Merry Christmas:

Preload Adjustment

By turning the large nut at the bottom of the spring you can adjust the springs tension to suit your body weight. To properly make this adjustment you will need to .measure the "ride height sag"....
REAR SHOCK
1) lift the rear wheels up off the ground.
2) With the wheels off the ground, measure the distance from the top center of the rear axle to some point straight above it on the ATVs frame. Write this dimension down.
3) With all your riding gear on plop your butt on the seat with your feet on the pegs in your normal riding position. Then have somone measure the distance again in the same place as the first measurment. The difference between the 2 measurments is called the "ride height sag".
4) Adjust your preload so that your "ride height sag" is about 30% of your total suspension travel. Example: If you have 9" of total travel you should have about 3" of ride height sag.
FRONT SHOCK
Use the same procedure EXCEPT your "ride height sag" should be about 20% of your total shock travel.
--------------------------------------------------
Compression Adjustment

Adjusting the compression of the shock determines how fast the shock "compresses" together. This adjustment should be made according to the type of riding you plan on doing. The real trick here is set the suspension at the point where you use all the travel of the shock without bottoming out hard .
With the setting too soft the suspension will feel "mushy" and you feel like it's "floating".