Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Yamaha Vs. Honda Reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2001, 12:32 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am brand new to the ATV scene and I am trying to decide what kind of atv to buy. I know I want a four-stroke sport atv and have pretty much narrowed it down to Honda 300ex,400ex or a Yamaha Warrior. I know the Honda name is great, but I don't know as much about the Yamaha name. Is Yamaha as reliable as Honda?? I have ridden a friend's Warrior, but I have not ridden a 400ex.
P.S. Which handles better??
Thanks

Old 08-06-2001, 12:39 AM
Pro Rider

In my opinion, all quads are equal reliability-wise, IF you take care of them! If you are willing to maintain your bike, and keep in in good shape, you will be fine on a Warrior. If you want something you can put through the walls, and never have to touch it, go with the Hondas!

Old 08-06-2001, 12:52 AM
Pro Rider

There all pretty much the same quality wise. You start experiencing troubles when you tinker too much. Leave them stock and you wont be wrenching much outside normal maintnance. Of the 300ex, 400ex, warrior I'd probably pick the 400EX then the Warrior and lastly the 300EX. There is NOTHING the 300EX can do that the superior power of the Warrior cannot do better. When riding my Warrior I had often heard 300EX owners complain of their lack of power as a number one complaint. You'll hear alot of flaming for that statement but visit some sand dunes sometime and listen yourself. That being said, the 400EX is probably the best choice of the above. It lacks reverse however and if you ride alot of tight trails you may take that into consideration. Power wise the 400EX is quite a bit ahead of the Warrior and 300EX. A Blaster can usually take a 300EX in a drag race however they usually fall short of the Warrior. Now after riding my Raptor they all seem somewhat anemic. Even my Warrior feels heavy and slow. There's no replacement for displacement, bigger is better!