Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Blaster4Kids?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2000, 01:23 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys-question. Have a 10 year old about to graduate from a Suzuki LT80 to a Blaster. I personally ride RED, but they dont make any decent kid sized bikes-yet. So, im looking at used 94-96 Blaster. Does anything change on Blaster year-to-year. the 00 seems the same as the 90 to me - except for the colors. When buying 2stroke(im new at this 2stroke world) what to look for in a used bike? Or should i care? Since i hear 2 strokes are easy to rebuild compared to my Thumpper. Can i expect to use a blaster for 1-2 years without any major problems. Any input would be great. Give me your horror stories or Good news - so i can prepare myself for Yamaha.....

Old 01-13-2000, 03:44 AM
Trailblazer

Agree. A Blaster may be a bit much for a 10 year old. But then I know a 10 year old that handles a 250R fine. Depends on the skill level.

Look for a Blaster with a stock pipe. It's easer to learn on. Check for the normal things and don't buy something that has been beat on.

Depending on how often it will be used and the condishion, 3 years without any problems is normal. And it's about the easiest quad to work on. Far better then the LT80 with all that plastic. Takes me about 45 minutes to drop a new piston in. This is the quad to teach someone proper maintenance and repair.