1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

My experience with a Chinese ATV: Should you buy one?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2011, 08:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My experience with a Chinese ATV: Should you buy one?

Recently I was trying to decide whether I should buy a Chinese ATV or spend the extra money to get a used, name brand. It was hard to find good information on this topic so I want to share my experience to help anyone who may be in a similar situation.

My background:
I am 28 years old and I have never owned an ATV before and in my entire life I have only had about 3 total hours of ATV riding experience. I am not a great mechanic but I can perform basic tasks on my car such as changing oil and brake pads. However, I do have friends that are mechanically savvy, I am resourceful with the internet, and I am willing to learn how to work on ATVs.

What I was looking for:
I was looking to buy my first ATV to use for trail riding around my house. I only own about an acre of woods, but neighborhood collectively has about 10 acres of woods that I have been told that I can use (at least from some of the neighbors). I don't own a trailer, and I didn't plan on using my ATV outside of my woods. I only wanted an ATV for a few hours of light riding a week. I didn't need an ATV that could holdup to daily chores around the farm and I didn't plan on taking my ATV off of jumps or anything like that.

The Contenders:
I was looking at the following ATVs
1) Tao Tao ATA-250E ($1165)
2) Tao Tao ATA-300H1 ($2000)
3) Used 2004 350cc Yamaha Raptor ($2600)

The 300H1 was pretty much the Chinese counter part of the Raptor with a slightly smaller engine and slightly less quality. The 250E was one of the cheapest Chinese adult atvs that I could find. Everything on this quad was a little smaller than the other two (frame, tires, engine, gas tank, etc...), but it was significantly cheaper.