how to prep a quad that has been sitting for 3 years

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2012, 10:45 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to prep a quad that has been sitting for 3 years

Hi all new to the forum and I have a few questions.

Im picking up an 08 kawasaki kfx450r from a friend of mine that has been sitting in his shed for 3 years and has not been ran. It has low hours and in very good condition. I know ill have to change out the oil and probably replace the battery. I was wondering about the engine, since its been sitting so long im sure the cylinder walls are dry and I dont want to try to start it up risking damage. Is there a spray or something that can be put into the engine to help pre lubricate the cylinder walls and valve train? also what kind of additive should I put into the fuel to help clean the injectors and the rest of the engine.

thanks

will

Old 02-24-2012, 11:17 AM
Pro Rider

I am not an expert by any means but this is what I would do

drain the fuel before cranking it over clean the carb add new fuel
pull the plug(s) and put 2-3 drops of oil in the cylinder to lube it from the top side (yes it will smoke a bit on start up but will stop shortly after its started (as soon as the oil is burned out)
change the oil and all fluids (differential, rear end, etc)
put in a new battery with a full charge
drain and change the coolant (if liquid cooled)

Old 02-24-2012, 11:23 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

good advice, one thing i would do after you add the oil up top, is ever so slowly, pull the ripcord/pull start a couple of revolutions. i believe that would put the capful of oil on top of the piston up on the cylinder walls. heck i'm no expert either. i hope the big boys see this one and lend a word of advice.

Old 02-24-2012, 12:10 PM
Pro Rider