ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

how to remove sleeve from 350x jug?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2007, 07:49 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to remove sleeve from 350x jug?

Hi my 85 350X has a small crack where the cylinder mounts to the case, someone has previously tried to braze it but it didnt work, it still run great just seeps a small ammount of oil. i bought a cylinder with a sleeve off of ebay for a good price and i would like to use the sleeve that is currently in my trike because the one i bought has some damage and i dont wanna change rings. so im wondering how hard it is to press the sleeve out of the cylinder in my trick and just exchange the cracked cylinder for the one i bought and reuse my current sleeve. i feel dumb asking this i am a Cummins certified diesel mechanic and i dont know my way around these little things like i do the large diesels. any help would be much apprectiated.

Old 02-04-2007, 09:05 PM
Range Rover

nothing??? please any help would be great

Old 02-09-2007, 01:26 PM
Trailblazer

with a 2cycle the cylinder sleeve has to be bored most of the way out and then they heat the cylinder and freeze the sleeve and only then can the new sleeve be pressed in. i don't think 2or 4cycle sleeves can be removed without being destroyed.

Old 02-09-2007, 03:46 PM
Range Rover

i dont know i guess, looks to me like they can be pressed out but im not sure, i think ill probably just end up taking it to a honda shop and have them do it. ill prob end up paying my life savings to have them do it but o well i guess. thanks

adam

Old 02-15-2007, 12:53 AM
Weekend Warrior

Your best bet would be to have the jug you bought bored out and step up your piston size. That would be the least expensive way to do it. Those sleeves are not pressed in they are sweated in. The replacement is just about what the other guy said,you would destroy the sleeve trying to remove it.

Old 02-15-2007, 04:02 PM
Range Rover