Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

ATV riding gear - newbie needs some help

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2006, 08:56 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ATV riding gear - newbie needs some help

Hey folks, thanks again to all of you who responded to my last thread about the heebie jeebies before buying a couple quads for me an my kids. Well, I took the plunge and are getting ready for my first ride sometime next week (rode motocross for a long time as a kid, so not a total newbie).

Anyway, I see photos of many an ATV rider wearing very little protective gear, usually a helmet and gloves, but basic clothes beyond that. I have two kids (13 and 10 ) that will be riding as well as myself, mainly Ocotillo wells at first, and was wondering what you all suggest beyond a good helmet, goggles and gloves.

I am seriously considering basic MX pants at least, and definitly MX style boots. Is this the norm or are most just too doggone macho to wear all the gear?

Thanks again for your help.

Old 12-21-2006, 09:21 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Riders: Along with helmet, gogles, and and gloves, I feel boots and a chest protector are "essential minimum gear". MX pants will save you from getting all scraped up in a crash, along with maybe a kidney belt and elbow and knee pads to save those vulnerable areas.

Quad: Nerf bars on the quads will save your leg some day......these are an absolutely essential safety item! (If you don't have nerfs, absolutely DO NOT ride without proper MX boots!) Other things that you will want to do to the quad will be full chassis and swingarm skid plates, and bumpers (protect your investment!). And an IMS Desert Fuel Tank (5.3 gallons on my 400EX!) can save you a long walk home someday.