Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

new to atving

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2006, 09:39 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to atving

My name is Nate, and im 15, and fairly new to atving. I have ridden on my friends Polaris 250 before, and have decided to get one. I am thinking about buying a quad. As i work as a lifeguard at an indoor waterpark(key point-7.50/hr), i am not in the financial position to go out and spend 3000 on something that will be just a toy. My budget is give-or take $1000(Gotta save 4 a car too), I have looked in the local area (adirondack mountains, ny) and there is nothing out there that is in reasonable condition used, so I have been looking on ebay. There are several chinese brands that look promising at around 1000 for a 250 cc model. My question is, are these worth even looking at? Some have a year warranty, and reasonable shipping. Sounds like a good idea to me, but what do you think?
Also, not having ridden a completely manual atv before(ive also ridden a honda rancher), is a manual trans. atv the way to go for me? Thank you in advance.

Old 12-22-2006, 10:42 PM
Range Rover
Default new to atving

i would not want a chinese atv for a dude your age. you need something you can beat the **** out of. these chinese bikes are for little kids or girls that wont ride hard or much or grown older folks that arent going to go out and ride it like it is stolen all night and day,like you are going to.if not now then soon.

1000 bucks will get you a 250X honda 4 wheeler. nice bike

or it can get you all sorts of kick @$$ 3 wheelers. 3 wheelers are the best bang for the buck.

will your folks let you get a 3 wheeler?