Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Need advice for beginner on buying first quad!

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2009, 01:24 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice for beginner on buying first quad!

Okay, so I have never ridden an ATV in my life, however I've been on a couple crotch rockets a few times so am fairly familiar with the clutch setup. I've decided motorcycles are too dangerous for my liking so I have turned to buying an ATV for a fun hobby instead. I have been looking primarily at the TRX400ex, LTZ400, and the YFZ450. I'm 19, 5"10 170lbs. Since I'm just starting out, I don't know if I'm going to be trail riding, dunes, etc. which is why I'm looking for the best quad for different types of riding. I don't need anything insanely fast, but I still like the 450 because I keep hearing how much of a superior quad it is compared to the Z and 400ex. I've searched the forum, but only found results dating back a few years ago. I'm looking for a newer ATV mostly 06 on up and looking to spend around 5k. Thanks in advance for all help!

Old 03-20-2009, 02:53 AM
Pro Rider

welcome to the forums.... any of the 450s are great machines the suzuki ltz450, the honda 450r the yfz 450... all the machines you listed would be fine for trails or dunes. the 400ex has prolly the least power out of the 3 machines you listed but is still an all around great quad especially for trail riding. craigslist is usually a great place to find some really sweet deals, esp in the current economy people are trying to unload them to get cash as quickly as possible.
good luck with whatever you chose

Old 03-20-2009, 06:01 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: KansasKid