CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

bmw f 650 fuel injection

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2005, 09:35 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bmw f 650 fuel injection

i have a chance to pick up a bmw f-650 thats been wrecked (frame is pretty bad as well as forks) for $500 its at the local cycle shop. where i work part time as a night job. i messed a bit with it yesterday and got it to fire over and the motor runs great. it's showing 6000 miles on the odometer.

what i want it for is to see if that fuel injection set up can be used on a ds. has anyone done that before?
i really want fuel injection and cant see spending 1400 on the hpr self learn.
anyone have any insight on this?

Old 04-29-2005, 11:57 AM
Pro Rider

they use the same motor, so it should just be a bolt up, maybe some fab work???h

Old 04-29-2005, 11:58 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I would grab it in a heartbeat, for $500 you can make your money back many fold parting it out.
The fuel injection would be fun to try and swap over, I know I'd give it a shot.

Old 04-29-2005, 12:38 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Yea, you would probably have to swap out the ignition system aswell, and possible the Stater,and Rectifier sytems, but they SHOULD all be doable. Thier is aslo be some Air sensors involved, so take you time and have fun. It is definately worth 500 bucks IMO.

bigger.

Old 04-29-2005, 01:30 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

hey if you don't want it, I'll drive to NY and give you $500 for it![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 04-29-2005, 01:38 PM
Pro Rider

you can also get ahold of sandaholic, as he installed the kms injection on his DS. he can probably give you some advice/tips

Old 04-29-2005, 06:26 PM
Pro Rider

When I picked up my BMW rectifier, I asked if the fuel injection would work on our DS's. I was told that the head on the motorcycle is configured differently (internally), and that the fuel injection for the cycle application wouldn't work.