Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Need help! Quick Carb ??....

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2004, 10:50 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help! Quick Carb ??....

The bayou I recently got, had been sitting for 6 months. Im trying to start it, it has spark, I think I need to clean the carb. It had a gas leak, so there wasnt any gas in the tank, but most likely there was gas in the lines and carb. Im completely new to carbs, what should I do?

Old 03-12-2004, 12:12 PM
Trailblazer

Also, there is only one fuel line going to the carb, is that right? There is a lower opening, which has the line going to it, and there is an upper opening, which doesnt have anything connected to it.

Also, what is the big cylinder before the throttle plate called? And what does it do?

I appreciate ANY help!

Old 03-12-2004, 12:50 PM
Pro Rider

few things you need to get it to fire...Air,fuel,compresion and spark..If you have all of these it should fire up..Check to make sure...Then if all else fails go too your auto store and get a can of starting fluid...take off air filter and squirt some at your carb...it should start or stumble...oh yeah try turning up the idle screw on carb..you might just need to get the juices flowing on that beast...

Good luck

Old 03-12-2004, 01:40 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Take a look at this and maybe itll answer what youre after, if not ask again. The petcock may be vacumn operated, does it have "pri" on it? or does it have an off position?
carb view

Old 03-12-2004, 06:23 PM
Trailblazer

My petcock only has an ON, OFF, and RESERVE switch. I still need to prime the fuel right? Is that big cylinder in front of the throttle plate a fuel pump or something? It is riding on a small rod. I just looked again, and I think the rod its riding on is the main jet? Im not sure, I looked it up on the diagram, and its a "needle jet"

Im pretty sure my problem is no fuel, and Im pretty sure its the carb.

Thanks!

Old 03-12-2004, 06:35 PM