Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Prairie 300

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2001, 10:12 AM
cdk
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hey guys, i am a newbie here so be gentle :-) i have been riding serious offroad for about 5 years now and would consider myself an experienced rider. gotta question about my '99 Kawasaki Prairie 300 2WD. its bone stock right now, except for the Superwinch T1500 i put on the front end last night. i am thinking about putting a K&N Powerkit on it and installing a Supertrapp IDS2 pipe on it, how will this increase my quads performance? anyone done this before? worth the money?

also i am considering putting a set of aggressive mud tires on it, i love the way they look and the better traction they provide. right now my quad has 25" dunlops from the factory...will the 300 engine have enough gump to push the 26" GBC MudSharks on 12" .190 Douglas aluminum rims? would i be better off to stick with a 25" tire on the same rim as above? or should i stick with a steel rim because of the weight of the quad? i am also considering using the new aluminum wheel spacers from HighLifter...anyone tried these? Thanks a bunch.

Chris
'87 Honda CR125R
'88 Suzuki Quadracer
'99 Kawasaki Prairie 300 2WD

Old 03-16-2001, 11:14 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

cdk, my opinion only: the Kawasaki Prairie (including Bayou and Lakota) 300 cc engine is, well, pretty much optimized already for utility ATV application.

Limited valve area limits maximum rpms, no matter WHAT you do. Jet kits (over-rated in my opinion) can enrich the mixture at higher rpms (a larger main jet has the same effect), weighting a different spectrum than the factory chose; a pipe lowers back-pressure from a small (and relatively unrestricted) exhaust valve. Marginal performance improvement (mostly at the high-rpm end) can result from the mods you propose.