Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

2006 Bayou 250 Cracked Case replacement

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2018, 12:32 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 Bayou 250 Cracked Case replacement

Hi Forum, I'm Rob, and I'm new to the forum. I've been searching and scouring for existing threads on my topic, but i'm having trouble locating consistent topics. I'm hoping you'll take pity on me and my 12 year son as we embark on this ambitious project of replacing a cracked case. Long story short, we were on the trails last weekend and my son hit a rock. Perhaps you all might appreciate the incredibly low probability of this, but the rock quite literally caught the lip of the Oil drain plug and cracked the case.

So here we are, and I'm calling out for help. I have a modest garage with the basics. Air tools, wrenches, ratchets. I'm a general hobbyist and am reasonable with most things mechanical. Call me a weekend warrior, and you'd pretty much be right. I'm entering this project with my son as a learning opportunity for both of us, and I'm hoping you all will take pity on me.

As of right now, we know we are going to have to replace the case as it is beyond repair. My first questions are:

1) are there any manuals I can buy or electronic manuals online covering this topic that I can get access to? Where can I buy them?
2) are there any unique or special tools that I need to make sure I have on hand to complete this project? I believe I have the majority of the basics covered, but i know i'll be swapping all of the engine components over to the new case.
3) aside from eBay, are there good online sources of parts that are consistent and quality that I should be aware of?
4) Are there any specific or unique "gotchas" I need to be aware of prior to getting knee deep in this project? Any best practices, or tips you might consider sharing?