Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

2003 Kawasaki Prairie 650 Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2023, 04:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Kawasaki Prairie 650 Maintenance

First I want to say that I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I can figure out my way around an engine with proper instructions. ATVs are not my thing. I'm more of a self-taught Truck Mechanic. So if any of my questions seem rookieish, I do apologize.

So let's dig in. I have what I believe to be a 2003 Kawasaki Prairie 650 V-Twin. I say that because I can't find the VIN anywhere on this thing. I've looked in the places I have been told to look, but still nothing. This ATV was bought at an auction by my uncle years ago and he has since given it to me. When I got it, I would turn over, but would not crank at all. He said the last time it cranked, the Belt Check Light was flashing thus preventing it from getting up to speed. After I got it, when trying to crank it, I noticed fuel leaking from the carburetor. I have since removed that, rebuilt it, but now I'm waiting on a new plastic T-Fitting that fit between the two carbs. When I pulled them apart, one of the orings on this part was busted. I'm assuming that is the culprit to my fuel leak. It was either that or the Float Channel Gasket. They were corroded and rather flat. They have been replaced. Once I get the carbs back together and reinstalled, hopefully it will crank up.

Now to my questions. I have 2.