Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

winch solenoid, what exaclty does it do? Is it necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2003, 09:09 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default winch solenoid, what exaclty does it do? Is in necessary?

I just bought a used P650 last Monday. I love it.

I was working on it today playing around. It came with a warn atv winch with a grey round switch. 2000? 2500? I did not like where the wires to the switch were mounted so I stared moving them. I moved them to a better location but in the process, I determined it does not have a solenoid.

I am an investment broker not a mechanic, but my old atv had the same exact warn winch on it, with the same switch. but that one has a solenoid on it. I know this because I am getting ready to take it off I am selling the bike and winch seperately.

The funny part about it was I called the guy up and asked him about it. And he said the dealer put his winch on the day he bought the bike and he had never looked at it.

Is this a huge deal? should I get the solenoid off my old bike and try to wire it in. I figured if the dealer has it this way it must not be too bad.

One more thing (sorry so long) anyone have a good location to buy a cheap, small, switch I can mount on the bars? I don't like the rack mount switch that well. I know warn makes one but its expensive.

Could this cause a fire or cause me to fry my electrical system or something? The guy I bought the bike from said he had used the winch several times, with no trouble.

BTW the bike came with the extended warranty sold by the same dealer who installed the winch.

Old 02-22-2003, 09:17 PM
Pro Rider
Default winch solenoid, what exaclty does it do? Is it necessary?

The solenoid is not exactly necessary on the A2000 kit. All the current is handled by the switchosaurus (big monster switch). The solenoid just prevented the winch from working w/o the key. No biggy.