nOOb questions....sort of...

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2005, 12:35 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default nOOb questions....sort of...

Hello all!

OK, here's the deal: I've been a diesel tech for the last 16 years. I havedn't owned a motorcycle, dirtbike, or ATV for about that length of time - never seemed to have the money to get what I wanted. I am an experienced rider - I owned some bikes & ATV's when I was a teen - but I'm rusty. That's not really an issue though. My concern is that I don't really have any experience with 2-strokes or with ATV's/motorcycles in general from a maintenance/repair perspective. Sure, it's all just nut & bolts........but I'm used to diesels, not reed valves, slide carbs, clutch baskets, etc. So, I've got some "nOOb" questions that I hope can be answered here, as I now own a few of those "toys" I've been living without for the past 16 years or so. So, here goes......

1. Where's the best place for me to learn about 2-strokes - maintenance/repair/overhaul/diagnostics? For that matter, ATV's/bikes in general?
2. How difficult is it to replace fork seals on upside-down forks on a motocross bike ('98 YZ80)? Special tools? What type of fork oil and how much? Any advice?
3. Best transmission oil for a Banshee? A Blaster? The YZ80?
4. Suspension setup how-to advice (ATV's & motocross bikes)?
5. Easiest/best way to demount/mount ATV tires? Break the beads? Seal the beads if they leak?
6. Carb tuning/rebuilding/syncronization?
7. Valve adjustments on 4-strokes?

I'm sure there are many more questions that will pop into my head once I log off........but this will get me started. Thanks in advance - I've got alot of catching up to do!

Old 06-02-2005, 08:35 AM
KTM Patrol
Former Chinese POW!
Received 46 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally posted by: DieselTech
Hello all!