Performance Mods and Project Quads Share and ask for information about modifying your ATV or building project quads.

twist throttle...

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2004, 09:57 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default twist throttle...

hey, i'm in the process of building a desert racer out of my 450r. im a little tentative to spend $70 on a twist throttle since i've never used one on a quad before, and i've had both good and bad experiences with them on dirtbikes. how do they work when your hanging off the side of the quad during a real hard turn? do you have to re-adjust your hand before you can go into the turn? also, when i rode one of my buddy's bikes the throttle would rev up whenever i went from standing to sitting, would a 1/2 turn throttle avoid this issue? thanx for the help.

Old 11-15-2004, 11:04 PM
Pro Rider

i dont really like them cause when you go over big whoops and jumps my hand tends to open up the throttle. I think with some practice though some people are real good at a twist and prefere it over a thumb throttle.

Old 11-17-2004, 01:06 AM
Pro Rider

LOL, last time my dad used a twist throttle he broke the clutch lever off our banshee! The front end lifted up during the whoops and he popped a wheelie and hit a tree [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-blush.gif[/img]! I don't really care about the throttle what ever works for me but if you were to get one i'd get 1/2 pull , it was more comfortable to me.

Old 11-17-2004, 07:17 PM
Pro Rider