Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Polaris Sportsman 500 H.O. vs. Yamaha 660 Griz?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2003, 09:37 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris Sportsman 500 H.O. vs. Yamaha 660 Griz?

I am new to ATVing. This will be my first ATV purchase. I will be using it for mainly hunting and some pretty calm trail rideing . I
am being steered to a new 2003 leftover Polaris Sportsman 500 HO by a friend of mine who swears by them. I have also looked at the Yamaha 660 Grizzly.
Any comparison thoughts and your bias's will be much appreciated. Thanks Frank.

Old 06-04-2003, 11:35 AM
Weekend Warrior

My brother in-law owns a '02 Yamaha 450 Kodiak 4x4 and I own a '02 Sportsman 500 HO. I think that his is a smoother more refined ride and mine is more torque and power. In my limited experience I would generally say that Yamahas are more refined.
My.02
-Jared

Old 06-04-2003, 01:33 PM
Trailblazer

My buddy owns a 2002 Sportman and my other one owns a 2004 sportsmAN BOTH 500 HO's. I like the grizzley alot but for what you do get the sportsman they have a much nicer ride. If you take care of them you shouldnt have much problems. The 660 grizzlewy is a very nice quad by the way. Pick what you want this is just my input.

Old 06-04-2003, 01:44 PM
Weekend Warrior

JoeUgly,

About to purchase my first atv as well... [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]
Read a string or two over at the Yamaha forum. The Griz has had a few problems with vapor lock. Something about the exhaust, carb and gas tank coming together under a shroud and causing problems with low-speed riding. Yamaha hasn't given much support from the sounds of it. Don't know if they have tried to remedy the situation or not.

Let us know what you decide.

Old 06-04-2003, 01:57 PM
Range Rover