Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

04.4 Sportsman 400 Rattling Front

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2004, 06:56 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04.4 Sportsman 400 Rattling Front

Ok- I'm a newbie, so bear with me...
WE got a brand new Sportsman 400, a lot smoother ride than our Xplorer 250's. I have been driving around in our woods this week (small trails- no room to really work the atv) and it has been running ok, until today. It has 21 miles on it. If i take a left turn, and lean to put weight on the right front tire, a loud clanging/rattling noise comes from somewhere in the front half of the bike. Hard to identify exactly, as you need to be moving and turning all the way left. Not sure what it is, and i really wanna use it this weekend when we go to our camp. Any ideas?

Old 05-05-2004, 07:12 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you checked your hub oil? Can you discribe the sound with more detail. Does if affect you driving, like pull to the side, because pulling to the side is hub oil. If you could explain where exactly if is coming from, it would help much. Try to figure it out, and reply. Somebody else may know exactly what it is, so stick around for somebody else to reply. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 05-05-2004, 07:17 PM
Pro Rider

Well my dad and i have been driving in circles in the driveway for awhile, and the best we could narrow it down to is either front differential box or drive shaft leading to it...(not totally sure thought). It only happens when turning left, with a good bit of weight pushing down on the right front tire. You can't feel it at all, only hear it. It sounds like a gear grinding noise, but not very fast (only a few individual "grinds" per second). Where would i check the hub oil?
And also, is the engine oil supposed to be very thin and runny? Never had a fourstroke before.