Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Porting 400L

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2005, 12:26 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Porting 400L

I have been wanting to get my quad ported for awhile now but need some answers before I finally do. 1. Those of you who have dynoed your quads what kind of horspower gain is involved. I would like the difference between trail ported and race ported if possible. 2. Do I need to get a bigger carb? for race or trail. Or can I just have my stock one ported? and finally 3. with a race port can I still run pump gas or does it require race fuel??
A thanks in advance and for all my past questions.

Old 03-09-2005, 02:00 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Porting 400L

I have done alot of research on what your asking, and while I have no hands on experience he is what I have found.

the carb.
according to rcr haveing the card bored and polished is worth 1.5 hp and a new carb wrth 2hp. The new carb would be better but this is just going to come down to what you feel is worth it.

Porting of the jug should not affect what gas you use only a compression increase should do that.

hp dyno or but dyno gains are somthing I unfortunately don't know, im sure ced or someone will chime in soon with that info.

Old 03-09-2005, 02:20 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Porting 400L

Typically a trail port would be worth around 7-10hp. I am fairly sure that the 96 model jug is the earlier design and does not have the auxilary intake ports (also called sub-intakes). They are still good jugs and a trail port will really wake them up, but not the choice of having a race port done. I believe the 98 and newer jugs are the later design to look for.

As far as carburetion, I typically stray away from the roundslide carburetors. It is not very expensive to find a Mikuni 34-36mm or a Keihin 33-35mm flatslide carb. The flatslide has tremendous more throttle response and WILL make more power.