Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Help 01 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010 | 09:37 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Help 01 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO

Hi this past summer I purchased a 01 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO 4x4. It sat in the garage for about a month now not being run during the winter months and when I go to give it some throttle it jumps. By jumps i mean the back wheels have a jerky spin to them when it seems like the trans engages violently instead of the normal smooth acceleration. Instead of slowly starting to move it will spin the tires about 1/4 way round then gain speed normally. (kinda like a stall torque converter)

I am wodnering if I developed some sort of problem with my drive clutch? Any ideas would be appreciated as I am new to Polaris machines and dont know all that much about them.

Thanks
Jameson

Help 01 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO-pol1.jpg

Help 01 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO-pol2.jpg

Last edited by WIJameson; 01-30-2010 at 09:43 PM. Reason: Added images
Old 01-31-2010 | 02:37 AM
Pro Rider

I do`nt know anything about the clutches but how did the machine operate before You parked it???Just wondering if it has some kind of a performance clutch in it.

Old 01-31-2010 | 06:25 AM
Super Quad Patrol
I'm watching you!

welcome to the forum. if the engine is running smoothly and not jerky w/ the throttle then it's in the clutches. prehaps it has a stiffer primary spring in the primary or a complete clutch kit. it also may be worn out and having grooved weights or bushings from worn out flat spots which could cause what your refering too. best thing is to take off clutch cover and maybe pull primary off to take a peak on whats going on and get back to us. how many miles on the bike?

Old 01-31-2010 | 11:21 AM
Pro Rider

nice looking machine. I like the extra protection you made for the radiator and winch setup

Old 01-31-2010 | 11:33 AM
|
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for all the comments. I didn't expect this much of a response.