Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2012, 05:00 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TrailBoss 250 help

I just bought my first atv last week and its a 1997 Polaris TrailBoss 250
2-stroke.

I have a few questions

1. The transmission fluid is bad thats in it, i want to drain the transmission but cant find the drain plug, also im wondering what would be a cheap but good transmission fluid i could use?

2. Im not a expert but i had to replace a gasket on the cover the pull start is bolted to, i dont know the name of that part sorry I replaced the gasket and it worked, I had to replace it because it was leaking air when I would ride and spray gas out of it...now im wondering why there is gas in the case? The cover I know protects the starter and the other wheel the starter spins but i also know gas shouldnt be in there.

3. When the TrailBoss is just sitting it leaks gas constantly out the overflow line on the carburetor, i took carburetor off and used carburetor cleaner and checked everything and all looked good, I went ahead and ordered a carburetor kit that i should have in a few days delivered.

Thanks for reading and helping.

Old 09-17-2012, 05:18 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Welcome! Gear case drain plug is on the right rear where the bash plate has a cut out. 3/4" or 19 mm. Fill with Polaris AGL to dipstick full mark (approx 20 ounces)
Gas in the recoil area is because of leaking crank seals,one behind the stator plate and one behind the front clutch. Carburetor kit should fix the leaking problem with a new needle and seat. If it has a problem running after you repair the carb,you may need to replace the crank seals.Look here under your model at "crank case and cylinder" will show the seals plus anything else you might need. Browse
OPT

Old 09-17-2012, 05:57 PM
Trailblazer

thanks that really helps.
Now should there be any fluid in the recoil area or is it just empty?