Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

SP500-what to do after swimming?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2003, 11:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SP500-what to do after swimming?

We were out on the weekend and a friend on a SP500 went through a big puddle which resulted in the motor running very poorly and sputtering under load. I've never worked on one before, but before long I had it apart and drained the water out of the airbox opened the carb drain which were both full of water. After this I looked and found that there is no drain on the belt housing. It is an older one so I guess they didn't have it. Anyways, we got it running again and limped it back to the truck. During the drive back the water eventually cleared out of the carb and it ran fine after that.

My question is what would you recommend doing after dunking the quad like that?

Old 05-01-2003, 10:53 AM
Pro Rider

1) Check the oil. If it is at all 'milky' looking on the dipstick, change it IMMEDIATELY! It might not hurt to change the oil, anyway. 2 quarts of oil is a small price to pay compared to engine damage from contaminated oil.

2) Check all other fluids. In particular, the tranny oil, and front gearcase oil. The hubs are supposed to be sealed, but might not hurt to check them, as well. Again, the easiest way to tell contamination is discoloration, foam, or stuff that looks like sour cream or vanilla milkshake where there should only be clean oil. If the machine didn't acutally 'drown', this stuff should be OK, as long as your vent tubes aren't torn or disconnected.