Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Sompthin amiss

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2001, 11:02 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey guys I'll try to make this quick. I need some help. I have a 88 Suzuki LT-F250 Quadrinner with a problem. It refuses to start with the electric start. The motor turns fine but won't crank. When we push it off it takes about 15 minutes to get it going. Sometimes when it does crank it is VERY sluggish. After a few minutes it runs fine. I know there is not a fuel problem all the way to the carb. But it acts like it is not getting fuel. I'm not a mechanic and am just trying to figure this out on my own. What would make it so hard to crank like this? I don't get to visit the forum often so if you could email me, that would be appreciated.

Alan
medic42@nlamerica.com

Old 09-17-2001, 06:17 PM
Pro Rider

maybe the battery is dead?

Old 09-18-2001, 01:36 AM
Range Rover

When the motor won't crank with the electric start,chances are it is one of two things. As juggalo suggests, it could be a bad battery (I assume you have already tried to charge it since that is the most obvious answer). To check if it is, unhook it and attach a known good battery. You can't just hook jumper cables to the old battery because, a bad battery will often drain away all power.

The Walmart batteries are tempting with their decent prices but I would suggest staying away from those. The car/truck batteries seem to be fine but the smaller atv/motorcycle/lawnmower etc. batteries are low quality in my experience. I know of five such batteries in recent memory that lasted only about a year. Dealers sell the best batteries but, after their large mark-up, the price is in the $80-$90 range (unless you have an "inside guy&quot.