Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

06 Raptor vs. 06 YFZ

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2005, 04:22 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 Raptor vs. 06 YFZ

Hello!

I'm new to the sport but used to race motocross and hobby stock cars in my younger years. I'm 49 and weigh 140. I raced my friends stock YFZ 450 up comp hill at the dunes in Dumont CA and the bug bit me BIG TIME. After looking at all the bikes I've narrowed it down to the Raptor 700r and YFZ 450. There has been considerable changes in both of the 06 models but I'm still undecided. I don’t like the YFZ because it seems a bit more squirrelly but it does weigh 44 pounds less. I'm interested in doing some trail riding but mostly want to race the dunes. Has anyone read all the reviews of these machines such as I have and/or have experience riding them.

Please tell me your opinion and the pros and cons of each bike for the purpose I want it for

Thanks a million in advance for all your input!

Steven

Old 10-22-2005, 04:54 PM
Pro Rider

ive never heard of the yfz450 being squirrly, i would go with the yfz personally, both are going to be great bikes.

Old 10-22-2005, 05:47 PM
Range Rover

I rode a budies mostly stocl YFZ and loved it. I couldent balive the power compared to my DS. I would love a YFZ but I love trail riding more so than all other riding types to i am going wiht the new Raptor. I want reverse and feel that the Raptor will hold up better on the trails. If I where out playing in the sand i would probobly go with the YFZ because its liter and has simaler power, but the nearest sand doons to play in around here are a few states away.

Old 10-22-2005, 06:29 PM
Trailblazer