Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

New here...could use some advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2006, 02:57 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New here...could use some advice

Whats up guys...i recently picked up a 2002 yamaha warrior in great cond. Im an acura tech but have never got into atvs or repairing them so I just wanted to ask about any common problems with the warrior that I should be looking out for. As of now it runs excellent and is 100% stock. Any tips or maintence I should be aware of would be great. I got a haynes manual in the mail.

And one last question. Ive been searching for an exhaust system. Something that looks great and isnt too loud...I dont mind great sound but the stock is pretty loud to begin with. Also I heard something about having to change the jets after an exhaust upgrade? Is this true? What about the spark arrestor thing? Is that a must and what the hell is it? [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img] Like i said...any tips would be great.

Thanks in advance guys...

Old 09-21-2006, 03:38 AM
Pro Rider

Best thing you can do is keep your carbs clean and fresh oil in it. Im sure you know that. Change the oil after every 3-5 big rides. Use only motorcycle oil, not car oil. The spark arrestor is also called the muffler or the silencer, it all means the same thing. As for jetting, ever time you do a somewhat major upgrade (asside from an air filter) you need to rejet. Jetting is changing the fuel/air mixture to the piston via the carb. As for reccomendations on exhausts, im not too familiar with the warrior but there are a lot of people on here that are. Any questions feel free to ask.

Old 09-21-2006, 06:35 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts