Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

New to Forums Need a Little Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2009, 02:17 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Forums Need a Little Advice

Hi guys. I just joined this forum after seeing a lot of the insight posted on here. I figured it would be a good idea to get good information from some other Yamaha enthusiasts.

Anyway I have a few questions:
1. I just started riding my 2000 Warrior again recently. After sitting for a while the carb had gummed up. I drained the bowl and tank but after riding a while decided I couldn't get away without cleaning the carb. After I cleaned it the bike doesn't bog with full throttle anymore but it won't idle without having the choke slightly pulled out any ideas. (If you think it is the idle jet what is the easiest way to clean it.)

2. I live in KY and need some new tires what would be some good all around tires for basically all conditions. I climb hills a lot (and have bear claws on the rear now which I really hate) so I need something that will hook up well and last well because I do have to ride a decent amount of pavement.

3. My exhaust gets really hot on my leg and was wondering how you all felt about header wrap.

Sorry for the length but any help is appreciated. Thanks

Old 05-02-2009, 02:51 PM
Pro Rider

any mods done to the warrior? the fuel screw might need to be properly adjusted, good all around tires for warriors imo, are Kenda Klaws Maxxis Razrs and ITP Holeshots.

Old 05-02-2009, 03:01 PM
Trailblazer

Only mods are it's bored .20 over after new top end. If you are talking about the pilot air screw or whatever it's called i have it 2 turns out. I was looking into getting regular holeshots 20x11x9, any suggestions where to get tires cheap. Thanks

Old 05-03-2009, 12:42 AM
Pro Rider