1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Tao Tao 110CC Will not run

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2018, 08:53 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tao Tao 110CC Will not run

Greetings all,

This is my first post on the is forum. I have a 110CC Tao Tao ATV I got for my boys and I cannot get the thing to run at all. I am no mechanical expert but I am skilled with electronics. Anyways, initially I had problems with the carb. Im assuming I left ethanol gas sitting in it too long and the jets got clogged. I realized they cut the screws off so you cannot clean yourself (at least not easily) and I let the thing just sit even longer. I got left out behind the shed with battery in it in the rain and I'm assuming that caused some more damage.

I've recently been trying to get it running again so I drilled out the screws of the carb and checked for any corrosive damage on the electronics and wiring. The solenoid was full of water put it was still picking and acting as a proper switch. I replaced the 12v 4.5ah battery with two 6v 4.5ah batteries wired in series because I just happen to have some of those at my shop. Try to get the thing started but I was just getting this continous faint clicking sound. Seemed like something was drawing too much current. Tried jumping out the solenoid but still nothing. I then believed the starter was bad, I couldn't get the armature to spin even putting 12v directly from + tab to case.