Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

buying my first ATV need help

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2006, 09:54 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying my first ATV need help

Hi,
I am brand new to the ATV game. I have only ridden twice as a matter of fact. (Both times on Polaris Sportsman 400, 700). I want to get something that I can enjoy without a lot of hassle. I'm not handy with working on this kind of stuff myself so it will go to a dealer or friend for service. I am 5'10" and about 240 lbs. I plan on using the ATV for hunting, plowing and trail riding. Maybe some food plots at some point. I live in upstate NY so the weather can be quite cold and plenty of snow. I am not brand loyal at this point and have been reading the forum for a while. I know I want a 4x4 utility and an auto with EFI but other than that I am open to suggs. I don't want anything to overpowering at first. I am thinking of something in the 400-500 class to start and maybe passing it on to my wife and upgrading once I learn my way around riding and all. Any thoughts would be helpful. I would not mind a 2005 left over as long as it has the EFI. It just makes it easier to get going in the cold. Do any of the 300s come with EFI & are they big enough for me to plow with? Drag out deer with and such? Thanks for all your help.
Chambo10

Old 03-19-2006, 10:40 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Right now, i think the smallest ute with efi, is the 500 sportsman.
I wouldnt be too concerned about a carb equiped quad , starting in the cold. My two utes with carbs start just fine, down to 10f, and any colder, is too cold for riding.
300 cc...is gonna be a bit iffy. Itll do the things you want, but at its pace, not yours. If youre gonna be pulling any implements, id make sure the quad you choose has a low range.

Old 03-20-2006, 12:19 AM
Trailblazer