CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Parts wearing out?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2004, 02:48 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Parts wearing out?

I'm wondering what you guys think is the most harmfull type of riding as far as wear on a DS. Sand, cross country, motoX, trail riding, snow?
It's been my experience that sand is most likely the best if you stay out of the salt water. I'd say trail riding through muddy water the worst. It's the hardest on all the bearings, joints and chain. Not to mention damage from rocks and roots.
It's funny because when I see bikes for sale people always want to downplay sand riding.

Old 09-30-2004, 03:11 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I think I would agree with your opinion. Perhaps it is the image of Glamis and all of the wold things that used to go on there. Though unless you are driving through fires I think the sand is going to be much, much nicer.

Old 09-30-2004, 07:06 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I know as far as motor wear goes, I ride much harder in the sand than anywhere, dunes are the absolute only place my machine gets pushed to its limits, with the highest and longest reving and power needs for big bowls and massive walls of HP robbing sand. On trails and all other riding its all short sperts of full throttle but never maintained for long.

but for chassis wear and tear I agree the mud is hard on joints pivots chains and sprockets, and rocks do a lot of bashing if you're in a hurry too. and the ultra fine dust during dry weather our Indiana trails have is much harder to filter than sand.

Old 09-30-2004, 08:58 AM
Pro Rider

15 foot blind drop offs can do some damage that and un-seen desert fissures/aka sinkholes after the rains .....