CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Any reason not to convert thumb throttle to twist grip?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2015, 05:10 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any reason not to convert thumb throttle to twist grip?

I got my 2010 Can Am Outlander 800R Max XT three months ago. I use it for a short time almost every day but still I hate the thumb throttle. I have been riding big bikes for 50 years and thought it would take time to get used to the thumb throttle but after three months I still don't like it.

If I was going fast all the time it would be OK but I am using it for farm work where most of the ground has hidden holes and bumps. I often need to weave between trees with very little space and manoeuvre in tight spots so good control at low speeds is critical.

Is there any good reason not to convert it to a twist grip throttle?

Old 02-25-2015, 07:17 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Main reason is that if you were to loose control or balance the first thing you'd do is to grab the bars out of instinct.Doing so could cause you to roll the throttle on even more and a good chance of a wreck or injury or both.I've seen some of the wreck jobs where people converted throttles.Most of these people converted back to the thumb throttles afterwards.

Old 02-25-2015, 08:09 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

2 issues with twist throttles. First, unlike a bike, you have 2 front wheels that may not hit the same thing at the same time. It is easy to apply too much throttle if the bars whip, say if you rub a tree or rut with just one wheel. Second, a twist can be difficult to control when tightly turning.

Personally, I have used them and found them acceptable on lower powered machines. They also work well on trikes. That big bad Can Am may be a handful though. I would rather suffer with the thumb than die with a twist on a higher hp machine.