Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Hello from PA Newbie with Xplorer 400 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 03:07 PM
gtp
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello from PA Newbie with Xplorer 400 4x4

Hi all. I am in Greensburg PA I am a newbie on here but not to ATVs' and Motorcycles. I rebuild and tune all types of two strokes, lawnboys, saws, trimmer, bikes atvs as a hobby so naturally i was draw to the chance to get an older 400 2 stroke. I was blessed to find it at a great price and it was a 4x4.

I have almost finished rebuilding it new crank Wiseco piston overbore, new seals bearings and other supporting items (belt, plug, carb rebuild, plus, air filter gaskets and seals) axles, bearings and seals.

Can anyone recommend a wheel tire upgrade (size wise) as well as performance parts. I'd like to get 12" wheels with some great all purpose trail tires with some width and traction. what is a good package and where is the best spot to get the set up and perhaps some spacers?

Does anyone flip the front wheels to gain width in fron and do a spacer in the rear? If so which spacers and where do you find them?

I know RitterCycle is the place to go for go fast bits but unless I am mistaken today the website doesn't work? Is it www.rittercycle.com?

Hope to meet and chat with everyone on here!
George

pics..
Name:  xplorerworkinprogress.jpg
Views: 38
Size:  12.4 KB

Name:  400xplorer.jpg
Views: 41
Size:  9.8 KB

Name:  engine.jpg
Views: 40
Size:  11.2 KB

Old 02-07-2012, 09:38 PM
Pro Rider

If you have gone so far as to replace the bearings and seals in the front hubs, be sure to re torque the bearings after 200 and 500 miles. The outboard hub/ Hilliard clutch, uses one nut to torque 4 bearings, so as they break in the hubs and axel seals take a beating. The hub only holds @ 150 ml of oil and if you lose this the bearings, armature and more go south quickly.