Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Temptations of the scram. 2x4

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-1999, 11:48 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been studying on getting a 500 scrambler for about 3 months know but the price and speed of the 2x4 is very tempting. How reliable is the 2 stroke engine? How often will it need to be rebuilt (2, 4, 5, 6, years) How long will it last? How does it compare trail wise to the 500. I am gonna be riding mostly trail. No race but i like FAST! Or am i just totaly off track and not know what i am thinking. I know I need the 500. Just a wild hair i guess. I like the much lower price, but i dont want something that is gonna take a bunch of work. I dont mind regular up keep and maintenance. Who knows? Its my bed time!

Anyways,

Tha Road DoGG

Old 10-19-1999, 12:49 AM
Pro Rider

Of the two (500 4X4/400 4X2) I would sugest the 400. Obviously having the 4X4 capabilities isn't that much of a priority if your now comtemplating the 4X2. The 400 will be a bit more peppy'er than the 500, and while still on the heavy side, a few more pounds lighter too.

I'm sure you will hear plenty of horror stories about Polaris ATV's as this thread progress's, but here are my thoughts...

The 400 is a great buy (performance to value). For what you're giving up in suspension (although they now have 10" of rear travel, I'm speaking of the front struts) and weight (450+), you'e getting the ease of an automatic, an engine with tons of hop-up potential, comfortable ride, and a decent trail bike.

The best thing I can suggest you do is shop the different dealers in your area (not necessarily for price, but service and quality). Ask for references, look in the service area for awards/certificates and such, ride the ATV firsts (or at the least have them run it awhile for you).