Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Big Bear idles too high idle screw doesn't help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 06:04 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big Bear idles too high idle screw doesn't help!

This is a great forum! I am new to the ATV world. Just picked up a '87 bigbear 4x4 for ice fishing use. My problem is I can't seem to get the idle speed to drop down enough no matter how far I turn the idle screw down. I have cleaned the filter and tightened the intake clamps and that helped somewhat. It idles highest when started cold and does somewhat drop down when it warms up but not enough. To shift into gear I have to pull out the choke to get the RPMs to drop down. I have also checked the throttle cable thinking it was somehow giving some gas but it isn't the problem. This thing starts and runs great otherwise. It will start without the choke even yesturday when it was only 10degress out and had been sitting for 2 days. The guy that had it before me kept it in a heated shop and it didn't seem to have this problem. Any ideas

Old 01-09-2005, 08:58 PM
Elite Pro Rider

If its gonna start at 10 degrees and no choke, then its probably adjusted too rich.
Id say the uncontrollable reving, is due to a vacumn leak. A motor cant rev without air, look over the rubber intake, theres a missing gasket, or rip, or hole, or loose clamp, or bolts.

Old 01-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thats what I kinda thought about it starting when it is so cold, it must be rich. Like I posted in first reply I did tighten up clamps and airbox lid and the did help quite abit. But there is still something else and its got to be the fuel mix but I tried adjusting that screw on the bottom of the carb but it is a MF to get a screwdriver on! I think I am going to have to try and loosen carb and tilt so I can get at that screw. Anyone know which direction to lean it up and how much should I start with. And does this sound like the cause? Thanks.