Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

PORTING BANSHEE- how can i do it myself

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2005, 07:56 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PORTING- i want to make it myself

does anyone know an internet site that explain how to execute good porting or simply explain to me please. i am a machinist and i really know that i can do it, i already got the tools to perform it but i don't have the knowledge applied for this kind of science. I really want to learn it. Thanks Pat [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-frown.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-frown.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-tongue.gif[/img]

Old 10-29-2005, 10:44 AM
Pro Rider
Default PORTING BANSHEE- how can i do it myself

i would think you would need a flow bench to get some good port work done that you would acutly gain power from..........

Old 10-29-2005, 11:59 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
GOT BOOST!

There are templates for porting on the market. Just Google it. How good are they? I have no idea. You might PM Dabeachman and ask?

Old 10-29-2005, 12:55 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I PM'd him and gave him some advice. I have seen the templates and for the do it yourselfer they are a good starting point.

Hey Pat, if you really want to start understanding the gas dynamics and effects of components and porting on the motor, then buy a good book such as A. Graham Bell's "Two stroke Performance" though amazon or such. www.macdizzy.com helps explain some stuff as well. This is not something you can learn in a few weeks. Maybe in a few years if you have a lot of hands on.

Old 10-29-2005, 06:43 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

nobody will ever understand a 2-stroke well enough to build the "perfect" motor. Thats how complex these things are.