Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

SHould i get a 450 Grizzly or a SPortsman 500 polaris??

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2008, 02:18 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SHould i get a 450 Grizzly or a SPortsman 500 polaris??

Im new to the sport but i got hooked on my first ride! My uncle has a Grizzly 350 which was nice but im looking for just a little more and want the fully auto fuel injected and 4x4. and IRS so i was lookin at the grizzly 450 or this sportsman 500 by polaris the guy showed me at the local shop

Honestly i dont really know much about either make or model was wondering if i could get your guys input. I went to go look and the guy showed me the Polaris which caught my attention had has all the options i wanted.
I have a budget though i was looking to spend about $6,000 im fine with buying a leftover as well.

its not something im going to be able to ride all the time so let me know what u guys think the pros and cons r between these to models i guessing all u guys are yamaha fans but what are the things i should know b4 makin this purchase

Old 08-17-2008, 02:45 PM
Pro Rider

The 450 is going to be much smaller and lighter physically. The Polaris will be much more powerful, faster, more comfortable.

Quite a bit of difference between them, you are gonna have to try them out and see which one feels better to you. Also, the Grizzly 450 is not fuel injected, the Grizzly 550 is.

What kind of riding will you be doing with it?

Also, if you are a bigger guy, you will probably prefer the Polaris. If you are smaller you will probably prefer the Grizzly, average height size then its a toss up.

I haven't ridden a Sportsman 500 so not sure just how it rides, but I have ridden a Kodiak 450 a little bit and it was a nice compact light feeling machine. Since I am a smaller guy the Grizzly 450 felt great.

Old 08-17-2008, 02:54 PM
Pro Rider

Asking this on the Yamaha forum will normally get you biased replies.