Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Why won't my blaster idle

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2001, 11:45 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okay, here the thing, my blaster won't idle, it is always revving, even when i a mgiving it no gas it keeps moving. i have changed the jetting and replaced the head gasket, could it be a cracked engine case or what, i don't get it and i don't fell like paying a shop to do it for me right now, also, when i pull in the clutch and its not moving or anything, it moves but not very well, do i need to replace something like the spring or what. i know it has a lot of problems, i need help.
-Jacob-

Old 10-17-2001, 06:34 PM
Pro Rider

Hey, im no blaster expert, but one of my friends did the same thing. Upon further inspection, i determined that his floats where sticking, and the cause, the rod holding the floats to the carb was bent. so everynow and then it would rev for about 5 seconds and then correct its self.

Sorry i couldnt be of more assistance, maybe the blaster guys could really help you out, but only 7 people have even looked at this topic in a day and a half.

Sorry man

Derek

Old 10-17-2001, 07:27 PM
Pro Rider

Sounds very typical of an air leak. You should perform a leak down test on the motor to determine where it is coming from. Alot of blasters have troubles sealing where the rubber meets the read cage and there is no gasket. Check it out, your motor is lean that is why it revs up at idle.

Old 10-17-2001, 07:33 PM
Pro Rider

One of the first things I would check is the throttle cable. Too many times I see people adjust the idle using the throttle cable and not the carburator screw. Then when ridden, the idle is always changing because the cable gets pulled when you turn the bars. Make sure there is free play in the throttle cable.

Old 10-17-2001, 11:51 PM
Trailblazer