Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

85 to 88 Suzuki LT230S Quadsport help.

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2010, 10:12 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

take pics of the axle from the angle you are seeing it "way off" and post them up. then take some pics of the axle closer up from the back so we can see.

Old 07-03-2010, 02:25 PM
Trailblazer
Default Valve lash question

I'm new to the site and to ATV's I used to own a few street bikes, but I picked up an 86-87? 230 the other day. It has a rather loud ticking coming from it. I have never adjusted valve lash, so I have no experience. I have gone to the 230 "vault" and read the tutorial on adjusting the lash, but there is something I can't quite figure out. I think I have my machine very close to TDC and at that point the tutorial says..." Once you have the caps off, you can grab the rocker, which is the steel piece below the jam nut, and try to shake it up and down. There should be a little play. If there isn't, then its a good thing you're doing this." Well, I did that and I have LOTS of play...I'm talking several mm. It only says there should be a little play, but I'm thinking a little is barely moving, not several mm. Can somebody clarify this? About how much movement is "a little play"? I'm thinking the .001-.003 is the movement I should have, and if that is the case this thing is way way off.
Thanks
Nik

Old 07-04-2010, 05:29 PM
Range Rover

your right . there shouldnt be that much movement. in that article it says

The lash settings for the 230 are as follows:

.001-.003 - Intake
.003-.005 - Exhaust

Old 07-04-2010, 09:26 PM
Trailblazer

Thanks Lenny. I'm going to get those back in spec tomorrow hopefully...should run much better with lots less noise I hope.

Old 07-05-2010, 02:35 PM
Weekend Warrior