Technical and How-To Articles Post your Tech Tips and How-to articles here. Photo illustrations welcome

Simple Battery Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2009, 06:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simple Battery Question

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the whole ATV scene. I just recently decided to buy a used bike with a plow to clear my driveway this past winter. Really liking it and think I might upgrade already.

Anyhow I was doing some simple maintenance on my bike this past weekend and I took the battery off the bike to check it over and clean it up and charge it as it was not fully charged.

One thing i noticed was that there was no liquid in this at all, normally I would think there should be a mix of acid and water correct? This leads me to my question. Should I refill this with just distilled water or do I need to try and find something else to mix in this battery?
I am not sure if just water would be a good idea as it could freeze and crack the battery.

I know this is a noob type question but I have not worked much with these battery's in the past.

Thanks All,

Crash

Old 03-06-2009, 04:03 PM
Pro Rider

You could have an AGM battery if it was replaced with the previous owner, which does not have fluid like a "traditional" battery. If it is a regular battery you would need to fill each of the columns with distilled water and put it on a charger.

Old 03-06-2009, 05:59 PM
Pro Rider

If it is a traditional lead/acid battery and is lo can fill with distilled water & charge. If Did it actually start the machine that low? If they get that low the plates dry out & sulphate. Might want to start looking for a new battery. Did you actually look in the cells or just look through the tranclucent case cause if they are full can't really tell the fill line as it is same color.

Old 03-06-2009, 07:55 PM
Weekend Warrior