Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

85 to 88 Suzuki LT230S Quadsport help.

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2009, 09:22 PM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by crcmech
The reason I ask is the guy I bought the bike from put a bigger jet kit in it but left the rest of the bike stock. It runs and idles good with good power but seems like it could run better. This is my first project bike and my knowledge is minimal,but shouldn't u increase airflow,I.e. better exaust,when u go with bigger jets? When u torched your exaust did you remove it and hang it upside down?
Take the airbox lid off to increase airflow and lean it out. An exhaust is supposed to make the vacuum stronger at the carb because, during valve-overlap (the spot where both the intake and exhaust valves are open), the exhaust gases actually pull in air thru the carb. The stock exhaust is so crammed full of baffles and spark arrestor that the air can't move long enough to pull in more intake charge. However, leaving those drain bolts off the muffler will bypass the spark arrestor a little and let it breathe better. Back when I was running the stock muffler, I drilled a few more holes under there.

I took my quad for a ride until it started smoking. Then when it was good n hot, I got out the torch and roasted it right there on the quad. It took a few minutes and I was smoke-free.

Old 06-11-2009, 09:28 PM
Elite Pro Rider

Originally Posted by bashr52
It's not lean its running rich. I'll try it, it would be nice to see this thing actually work like its supposed to.

Tonight the handle bars broke off. It looks like the PO broke them and then just brazed them back on half assed. I'm finding all kinds of neat little things with this
I'm pretty sure its lean. The plug is black because you keep using the choke.

Handlebars coming off is a common problem. Have a look at the common issues section of the vault. A few more surprises await.