Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

85 to 88 Suzuki LT230S Quadsport help.

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 10:36 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just re-did the top end and need some help...

Hi Folks!

Excellent resource here and at the Vault. Thank you all for putting in so much time and providing info on these machines. It's very helpful but I'm still stumped - hoping somebody can give me some guidance...

I've got 3 of these old rigs ('85's and '86). One used for parts with a completely blown motor and two running. Well, one now semi-running.

I redid the top end on one that was smoking pretty good. 67mm Wiseco, new rings, gaskets, etc. I also rebuilt a carb w/a Moose rebuild kit. I adjusted it per the specs in the Clymer manual.

This is my first time doing either of these procedures.

I finished up the top end this morning, buttoned up the necessary pieces to try and kick it over, and got it to fire up. It runs, but it acts like I'm cranking the throttle over and over from about 1/4 throttle to 1/2 throttle. It continues to rev and rev.
I initially thought it was due to the carb rebuild. I tried adjusting to no avail. I then put the OLD carb back on (which hasn't been tampered) with and got the same result.

Any suggestions as to what may be the cause and where I should look?

I'm pretty sure the timing is dialed in as per the Clymer manual, but would that even affect the idle/throttle response? I thought timing only affected the actual functioning of the internals and since it does run, I figure it's good. Am I wrong?

My throttle cable is a little tweaked - seems to be supremely stretched or something, but I tested the quad ensuring the needle jet was in its fully seated position.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance~

Old 08-16-2009, 01:03 PM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by atvman29