General Chat Ask for ATV help above in the Brand Discussions Area. Use this forum to discuss Life, Music, ETC. Or discuss pretty much anything BUT no political or religious threads. There's an area for that.

I have used the search engine. Specific questions.

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 08:49 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question I have used the search engine. Specific questions.

Hey guys!

-Background: I come from a dirtbike past, so I'm not a total noob.
-I am recovering from a stroke I had almost 2 years ago.
-Had to stop riding as a result. I have balance issues.(sold everything)
-I feel I am far enough along to ride a quad.
-I miss riding sooooooo much!

Ok, I have the opportunity to own a quad and we have them narrowed down, but I am cluless when it comes to ATVs. I have some specific questions about the candidates.

I have it narrowed down to several that I really like. The most I have done is sit on them and researched them, but it has left me with some questions. So here goes.....

First: style of riding. We plan on mainly trail/play riding, but I would love the option to fly a small double/table now and again. Hills would have to be overcome, as some of our trails are in the mountains. I am not going to race MX at all, maybe a hare scramble wayyyyyy down the road. I am not looking to "PWN NOOBS" on the drag strip but I can handle power and don't want to be under powered...........

1. 2007 trx400ex. This is my front runner, as the motor is based off of the bullet proof XR. I have read that these bikes have a problem with cracking frames. Is this true? Is it a bad problem, or mainly due to abuse, like Jumping way too high and often?? Is it something that will not be much of a problem for trail type riding, and is the problem hyped?